Aspirational District Program


The Government of India has launched the ‘Transformation of Aspirational Districts’ initiative in January, 2018 with a vision of a New India by 2022 where the focus is to improve India's ranking under Human Development Index, raising living standards of its citizens and ensuring inclusive growth of all.

A total of 117 Aspirational districts have been identified by NITI Aayog based upon composite indicators from Health & Nutrition, Education, Agriculture & Water Resources, Financial Inclusion and Skill Development and Basic Infrastructure which have an impact on Human development Index.

Weightage has been accorded to these districts as below

• Health & Nutrition (30%)

• Education (30%)

• Agriculture & Water Resources (20%)

• Financial Inclusion & Skill Development (10%)

• Basic Infrastructure (10%)

Overall Key Performance Indicators: 49 indicators have been identified from the above sectors

Key Performance indicators (Health): 13 core indicators along with 31 sub indicator have been identified from the Health sector.

Health Atlas: A “Health Atlas” as a diagnostic tool, developed by MoHFW, was launched by the Hon’ble Prime minister on 14th April 2018 from Bijapur in Chhattisgarh.

Operational Guidelines for Health & Nutrition: To guide the districts in effective implementation of programs, an Operational Guidelines for improving the Health and Nutrition status in Aspirational districts along with Supportive supervision checklist was launched by MoHFW on 22nd October, 2018 at New Delhi.

E-Mitra (Mobile Integrated Toolkit RMNCH+A): This app offers one stop solution to access RMNCH+A related statistics from different sources like SRS, NFHS, DLHS, AHS, HMIS and was also launched by MoHFW on 22nd October, 2018 at New Delhi.